You are currently viewing Justify Dominates at the Preakness Stakes

Justify Dominates at the Preakness Stakes

The Preakness Stakes first ran in 1873 and was named by a former Maryland governor after a winning colt at Pimlico. It is the second jewel of the Triple Crown, held two weeks after the Kentucky Derby and three weeks before the Belmont Stakes. Since 1997, 10 of the 21 Kentucky Derby winners have come back to win the Preakness. In the past 19 years, on average, 5 Derby winners have returned in the Preakness. In the last 2 of 4 years, only three have returned.

Justify winning the Kentucky Derby and winning the Preakness Stakes puts him one win, Belmont Stakes, away from taking the Triple Crown. Despite some push from Good Magic and limited visibility amid thick fog, Justify exploded across the finish line to become the 24th horse to win both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes.

Yet on a day that began with a royal wedding, Justify sure appeared worthy of a Triple Crown coronation in three weeks’ time. All that is left is one more race and one more victory — and one more rainstorm, his team surely hopes — to land him among the titans of the sport of kings.

Will Justify be the 13th horse to win the Triple Crown?

Derby Tickets Inc

We have been in business since 1987 and from the start we didn't just enjoy selling tickets and going to the track but also offering great advice and information about everything Derby.

Leave a Reply

1 × 5 =



Close Panel